Skip navigation

October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month

We honor breast cancer survivors, previvors, and mutation carriers with their clinicians. Help patients and their families access high-quality, affordable genetic testing with Empower.

Join us on October 20th for a conversation about how to improve care for high-risk women including online and in-person support resources plus fertility preservation options. The panel includes women’s healthcare professionals and patients. A live Q&A will follow the panel discussion.

Webinar: Addressing Disparity in Cancer Outcomes with Access to Genetic Testing

Join us during Breast Cancer Awareness Month to learn how you can do your part to ensure women of all ethnicities and socioeconomic status are
offered comprehensive breast health and cancer screenings.

Thursday, October 7
11 AM ET / 10 AM CT / 8 AM PT
1 PM ET / 12 PM CT / 10 AM PT
  • Kati Young, MS, LCGC Manager
    Hereditary Cancer Medical Science Liaisons, Natera
  • Jessica Zoladz, MS, CGC
    Medical Science Liaison, Women’s Heath, Natera
  • Elysia Davis, MGC, CGC
    Medical Science Liason, Women's Health, Natera

More Informed Treatment with Hereditary Cancer Testing: A Panel Discussion

As a provider, you have the power to change a patient’s story.

Genetic information can help inform cancer prevention plans. Up to 10% of all breast cancers can be attributed to hereditary causes, the most well known of which is a BRCA1 or 2 mutation. A woman with a BRCA1 mutation could have up to an 87% chance of developing breast cancer in her lifetime.*

 

Hear from one breast cancer survivor and one previvor on how uncovering genetic information at different stages impacted their – and their family’s – cancer journey.

 

Hear from an Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility OB/GYN on how to integrate hereditary cancer testing into practice, discuss cancer history and testing options with patients, and how to approach family planning with mutation carriers.

Wednesday, October 20
11 AM ET / 10 AM CT / 8 AM PT
  • Dr. Shefali Shastri
    Board certified Reproductive Endocrinologist,
    Obstetrician and Gynecologist, and Medical Director of New York at Spring Fertility
  • Amy Vollendorf
    Breast cancer survivor, BRCA mutation carrier, patient advocate
  • Katie Wynn
    Breast cancer previvor, BRCA mutation carrier, patient advocate
  • Kati Young, MS, CGC
    Natera Medical Science Liaison